Advanced Cruising Itinerary:

Vancouver - Alaska (August 2014)

Day 0 - Sat. Aug. 9, 2014

Arrive at boat, unpack, sleep on board

Day 1 - Sun. Aug. 10

Boat briefing, safety briefing, course overview

LESSON: Tide and Current Review & Manoeuvring Under Power

Day 2 - Mon. Aug. 11

SAIL: Vancouver to Baynes Sound (50 miles)

LESSON: Weather Basics

Day 3 – Tues. Aug. 12

SAIL: Baynes Sound to Campbell River (50 miles)

LESSON: Sail Trim

Day 4 & 5 – Wed. Aug. 13 – Thurs. Aug. 14

PILOTING: Campbell River to Port Hardy (110 miles)

LESSONS: Piloting and Collision Regulations

Day 6 – Fri. Aug. 15

Port Hardy

(AM) LESSON: Passage Planning

(PM) OFF

Day 7&8 – Sat. Aug. 16 – Sun. Aug. 17

SAIL: Port Hardy to Princess Royal Islands (150 miles)

PRACTICE: COB’s by night and day

Day 9 – Mon. Aug. 18

Princess Royal Islands

(AM) LESSON: Heavy Weather Sailing/Seamanship

(PM) OFF

Day 10&11 – Tues. Aug 19 - Wed. Aug.20

Princess Royal Islands to Prince Rupert (150 miles)

Day 12 – Thurs. Aug. 21

Prince Rupert

(AM) Advanced Theory Written Exam

(PM) OFF

Day 13 – 20 - Fri. Aug. 22 – Fri. Aug. 29

Students will prepare and implement a passage plan that will take us from

Prince Rupert, around Dundas Island, touch Alaskan waters then turn south to

take us back to Vancouver along the west coast of Vancouver Island. The

passage will include a couple of stops that will be weather and tide dependant.

There will be a continuous passage of at least 50 – 74 hours to meet the

Advanced Cruising Standard Requirement (700 miles)

Day 21 – Sat. Aug 30

Student Debriefing and Evaluations

Day 22 – Sun. Aug 31

Students disembark boat in the morning.

As with all of our courses, this is a very aggressive itinerary that will challenge

“new” advanced candidates as well as “previous” advanced graduates who are

looking to hone their skills.

#learntosailinvancouver #kengillstrom #sailcanada

Featured Posts
Recent Posts